Au France

Tomorrow morning I get on a plane ride that is going to change the rest of my life. I’m going to France for study abroad, where I’ll be living in Paris for 9 months to a year, learning the language and oogling the Manet’s, Degas’, Renoir’s and all the rest.

I’ve got a duffle bag, my Tarmac all packed up and a 70L backpacking pack worth of gear and clothes to last me the year and four seasons. It was definitely hard to decide what to bring, but I thing the greater challenge will be getting it to my apartment once I get to Paris.

I’m starting out with a two week intensive language course because my hold of the language has slipped after the Tawongan summer, and I’m excited for this because it will give me a good start on my own before the actual study abroad program starts.

Some goals:

See a ton of new places and live them, and meet new people everywhere I go.

Bike race.

Speak fluent French.

Have American tourists mistake me for a Parisien

Keep a good budget.

Be happy.

It has been a frantic ten days after camp, with my attention being pulled in many directions, from missing camp and some special people there including an important girl, to being excited and nervous for the upcoming year, to being unsure of missing a whole year of UPS, including the close of many close friend’s time there.

But at the end of the day, this is what I need to do for myself, and I couldn’t be more excited.

I’m hoping to use this blog to share my experiences, learning and adventures with friends and family to keep them updated, not have to write the same thing in facebook chat to a thousand people, keep a record of my time and show a ton of pictures. Get as stoked as I am.
Au revoir California. Je te manquerai!

One response to “Au France

  1. Sounds like you’ve got an incredible journey ahead of yourself. I hope you’re able to meet all your goals and more. Safe travels and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

